BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to fly fishing and want to start fishing chironomids. The other day I found these two helpful videos: Wet line http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H97i4L9EVc Dry line http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0EiH9tN8VU
In my opinion, wet line chironomiding looks easier as you don't have to cast long leaders (since I'm not very good at casting). Whats your opinion on this and which method do you think would be easier for a beginner to start of with?
thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts
I'm a bit of a newbie to chironomids myself but in my opionion fishing with dry line and a float indicator is about is easy as it gets. True, fishing long leaders (say, over 15 feet) is difficult, but one solution to this problem is to fish in shallower lakes where you can get away with shorter leaders.

·
Registered
2,702 Posts
This is the summer I perfect wet line techniques. Everyone I have talked to who wet line chironomid fishes, says it is the easiest and surest way to fish these little buggers. I am pretty good and consistent with floating line techniques and reallhy want to start being consistent on the wet line as well. Thanks for the links.

·
Registered
214 Posts
As an amateur myself I'll say that while casting is intimidating at first, it's essential to learn because in my opinion dry fly-fishing is hands down the most exciting form. I've caught a huge amount of fish on dry flies in the last year (I couldn't guess the number, in the 40-70 range) and I have caught 0 on chronomid pupa patterns. In my experience in attempting chronomid fishing the retrieve is difficult to master, not to mention picking a pattern that will appropriately match the hatch. It's one thing to see the adults on the surface but will they have similar coloration to the pupa?