BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,

I'm heading over to Bamfield early next to fish with a buddy and we're going after some coho in the salt.

It's my first time targeting Coho in the salt, and I want to tie up some appropriate flies.

I'd appreciate any info (pattern, sizes, colours, etc).

Thanks!

Eric

·
Registered
383 Posts
Hey folks,

I'm heading over to Bamfield early next to fish with a buddy and we're going after some coho in the salt.

It's my first time targeting Coho in the salt, and I want to tie up some appropriate flies.

I'd appreciate any info (pattern, sizes, colours, etc).

Thanks!

Eric
i like these

http://i1041.photobucket.com/albums/b411/Bryan_Webster/blw/CohoKillers.jpg

Coho Killers

size 6 hooks
The bead is 3/16 gold cyclops and the colours are:
1. aqua polar flash over pearl polar flash
2. black d/o pearl flashabou over pearl flashabou
3. pink polar flash over pearl flashabou

·
Registered
77 Posts
Also I have had much success fishing weighted chartreuse/white clousers on #2 (or larger) hooks off of the kelp beds. The trick is to get the fly down before any rockfish can get at it so I use heavy sinktips from 275 to 550 grains depending on tidal action. Other streamer patterns imitating bait fish include green / white, blue / white and even purple / white - all weighted with a little krystal flash. Sizing dependent on whether there are herring, anchoves or pilchards to imitate. On a couple of occasions when hos are at the surface the Miyawaki Beach Popper can be a blast.

In days gone past, when I was a kid, we used to bucktail for coho on the inside (Georgia Straight). But that was a long time ago... haven't heard of anyone having much success doing that in recent years.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Bucktails sure do still work, know guys who solely use buctails for coho still, and from what I hear they do very very good.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #5