BC Fly Fishing banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to fly fishing and i am wondering if anyone could help with strike indicators. My first question is what ones do you use?? I've been told to use a corky and a tootpick but what about those quick release ones? Next question is how do you cast with indicators?? i found that they add a lot of a weight and resistance and that i always tangle and that i cant fully lay out my line. My last question is if you use a long leader (for example 15-20 feet) how do you get the indicator off so you can land the fish?? i know that those are alot questions but i would really appricate any help.

THanks
fisher4life

·
Registered
46 Posts
well i can help with one of your questions for sure. The best way to cast a long leader and indicator combo is to open up your casting loop. You can do this by stopping your cast at 9 and 3 (using a clock as reference) instead of 10 and 2.

·
Registered
45 Posts
F4L:

I have used those quick release strike indicators...and there's a few things I don't like about them. 1) The foam portion tends to crack at the thinnest part of the indicator where you push the plastic plug through. 2) It takes a little bit of experimentation to get just the right tension on the plastic plug so that the indicator releases when the fish strikes. If the foam indicator is cracked, good luck trying to keep tension on the plug (I'm thinking about putting a thin piece of duct tape to repair mine. 3) They're pricey. 4) If you break of your fly and the indicator has released, you lose the plastic plug...with a regular indicator, you just replace the toothpick.