BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, new to the site and have already found a bunch of cool info. I just ordered the Sage 8129 blank kit from anglers habitat and was wondering if anyone has fished this rod and would be familiar with its capabilities, I intend to use it for winter runs on the Vedder (I live a block away), and the Thompson. I know this is a shorter rod, wondering if it will be able to bomb it out on the Thompson. Any suggestion to what a good line for that rod would be? Thought I would get some advice while I anxiously await the UPS guy. Just getting into spey fishing, hoping this rod will serve me well for a many years.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Congrats on the rod. I've been fishing it for a few years and love it. To answer your first question - yes, it can throw a lot of line. That requires the right line, practice, patience and good coaching. My coach has helped improve my casting thereby increasing my fishing opportunities. Plug for the coaches.

I am fortunate to be able run different setups for the rod depending on the river. First is a 600g Airflo Delta Spey Mutlitip for traditonal casting and is what I normally train with and as such is my comfort zone. If you had one line to start with this should probably be it. Next, is a 550g Rio Skagit Flight with MOW Tips in Medium and Heavy which is perfect for Wet Coast rivers and what I use 95% of the time on the Island. Finally is a 7/8 Rio AFS head for Scandi style of casting which is what I would use on the Thompson if I could ever get back there at the right time. That line gets distance. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That’s great info, I’m a happy man. Can’t wait to practice at the Fraser where there is lots of room and no people. Thank you, I now have some new items for my Christmas wish list. Merry Christmas!!

·
Premium Member
2,330 Posts