BC Fly Fishing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
back in pr we have big cuttys. jsut being blunt. but we also have a lot of lakes that are full of 1.5lb fish and less which are relative to size, very scrappy. i have a 5 weight rod which is great for i feel all around fishing in the area. good for big and smaller fish. i also have my 8 weight for hogs. im think of going a step down though. so as to appreciate the smaller fish a little more. i enjoy almost as much as hog hunting going to any little stream or lake, or pond and casting in smaller flies in order to have a day full of 7 to 14 inch trout. thats a blast for me. what id like to know is how is it casting a 3 weight rod. in truth id like to go that route for the added sensitivity. making every fish feel like a monarch. and i dont reall see the point of jsut going down one size. but if theyre impossible to deal with them i cant be bothered. does anyone use a 3 weight. im not a proffesional caster but with the right rig i hold my own.i'll probly go with a dragonfly orginal as its n my price range and thats what i use now and survive allright. any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
powell riverite
383 Posts
hey man,
by the time you get back ill probably have my 4 wt built and ill let you give it a try, the blanks gunna be a beulah and i think there like $280 for the pre fab ones
and ya i def. know what you mean about for the lighter ones, and i already have a large list of places in mind i wanna ive them a try in

·
Registered
2,702 Posts
I've got a couple of 4's, a 3 and a little 6'6" 2 wt. I love 'em. You aren't going to bomb out 60' casts (it can be done) with a 2 wt, but then again you aren't going to be fishing any streams where you need to. For small to medium stream fishing I don't usually go over a 4 wt and even for big rivers, a 5 or 6 wt does fine. I am talking trout fishing here, not salmon and steel.

·
Registered
442 Posts