BC Fly Fishing Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all from a newbie!
I am also new to fly fish Skagit River.
I was using WF-6F on 9ft rod there but I felt it could have been more enjoyable if I used a lighter gear.
I found a good deal on eBay and bought Scientific Angler WF-4F. Now it is a turn to choose a rod.
There are choices for different lengths of 7 1/2, 8, 8 1/2, 9 and 10 foot rods.
Which length of the rod will be the most enjoyable to fish Skagit in the long run?
Thanks!

·
Registered
204 Posts
I've been using a four peice 8ft 4wt and it works great for the skagit. I like the four peice cause it can break down to a fairly small rod thats easy to pack around and the 8ft length is easy enough to cast in the tighter situations.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Rod For Skagit

You normally don't need to make very long casts on the Skagit -- so I'd go with a 8 ft 4wt.

However, if you might want to use the rod for stillwater fishing I'd go with the 9ft.

:lol:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
For easier mending, I decided to go with 9ft and ended up as buying 3/4 wt Powell Legacy Light.
Paid $100 US plus S,H and insurance for a used one on eBay.
Thanks again for the helpful opinions!

·
Registered
45 Posts
My favourite rod in my collection is my 9' 4wt Winston IM6...and for the Skagit, I use this rod almost exclusively (I now have a 2wt though). If the rod was meant only for the Skagit, or other similarly sized streams, then the ideal in my mind would be a 8'6" 4wt.

G

·
Is there a huge difference between an IM6 and IM7. I just want to know if it would be a big loss to go with IM6 instead of 7

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I went to the Similkameen River with the new 4wt. rod.
The sky was covered by the smoke from the forest fire in Washington.
I have never realized that amount of difference between good and regular gears!