BC Fly Fishing Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
......to catch a wild BC steelhead!!!! My fishing partner and I have been talking about a BC steelhead trip for two decades, and we've finally gottten to a place in our live where we can do it. We are planning on visiting the Smithers/Hazelton/Terrace area next fall.
Can anyone out there make some recommendations as to places to stay and guides. we are open to which river(s) we fish. I appreciate any advice, thanks a bunch!
Chris

·
Premium Member
1,608 Posts
Fall Steelhead

:) Hello Chris;
welcome to the madness so many of enjoy. The first fishy question is are you a Canadian citizen....? these Rivers are classified and that will determine your access and costs. What time in the Fall and what type of gear are you going to use.?
Two handed rods seem to be the thing for those big rivers but not totally necessary....the Kispiox,Bulkley and Skeena ;to name a few and all easy casting rivers...but in big water the "Spey " rod is king...big flies,big water!
Contact me if you need to
C

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My fishing partner and I are from the states. I was aware of daily permits for each river, but was not aware that there could be accessibility problems.
We will both be using fly rods, and although I already have at least a dozen #8 and 9 rods, I plan on getting a two-hander. (any recommendations as far as length and weight are appreciated!) I can't wait to start tying this winter. Several rabbits will have to die for all the bunny leeches I'll be tying!
My biggest concern is where to stay. I want to be as close to the action as possible without having to spend 5,000 bucks!
Thanks for replying,
Chris

·
Registered
124 Posts
Is tenting a possibility for you and your partner? A fraction the cost of a lodge...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·