1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stupid question again..........

I'm just new to flyfish, and the last Saturday I was on Allouette mouth for

casting practice.

It was my second time to go out with fly gear.

I cast around 30feet and that's it. So sad about this :(........

I'm using Fenwick HMX 908 rod and reel with freebee wf8 floating line from

fenwick and various sinking tips.

On the day, I was hit my ass and back by big steelhead fly a lot and hooked

my leg too.

Is there any good casting instruction on the web that I can learn??

Any comment, recommendation would be appreciated in advance~!!

Thanks~!!

Bravo!!!

·
Registered
238 Posts
hi,

there are a few places on the net or in books to learn how but the best and fastest way to learn would be to hire a good casting instructor. Your learning curve will be much faster and less frustrating in the long run.

·
Registered
2,702 Posts
I second Eric's sentiment. An hour with a casting instructor will save you many weeks (years) of frustration. The second thing is get out and practice. I would recommend that you put away the sink tips and just use a floating line for a good while. Avoid heavy, weighted flies while you are learning, even for seasoned casters these can be a problem. For practice it is often a good idea to use a hook with the point broken off or just a piece of wool tied to your tippet. VERY IMPORTANT: wear glasses or sunglasses (even safety glasses). That hook in the ass takes on a whole different meaning when it's a hook in the eye. Over the years I have managed to put one solidly in my nose and one through my earlobe. Too close to the eye for me not to be cautious.
Most important tho' is practice, practice, practice. Welcome to the light side. ;) ;)

·
Registered
89 Posts