BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Esteban was Eaten!
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Planning on hitting up the Salmon run on the Shuswap this year and I'm looking to tie up some patterns specifically for these fish.

I was going to tie up a couple of egg sucking leeches and stoneflies, but are there any other suggestions? Popsicles in specific colour combinations?

I'm a complete salmon newbie and I'm just going for the sh*ts and giggles of it, so any advice would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
209 Posts
purple wooly bugger is the only thing that has worked for me lol. try to hit the river on a cold or rainy day or there will be people tubing down the river scaring all the fish

·
Registered
8 Posts
Fished for Chinook from the road bridge in Grindrod one year, Just a heads up for you.....every inch of the bridge was shoulder to shoulder fishing, mainly by locals who really dont want you there.....Got nasty at one point, I said my piece and moved on .

·
Registered
513 Posts
Make sure that you are able to get your flies down deep. Chinook like deep water to hold in so your fly needs to get down to their level. Either a heavy sink tip or heavy sparse flies will help you out a great deal. Good luck!

·
Registered
214 Posts
The FSR into the Monashees is where I want to be, there are just some beautiful runs along that road and a gorgeous pool with a campsite by it.

·
Registered
27 Posts