BC Fly Fishing banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So as a delayed birthday gift to myself I went out on a saltwater fly fishing charter over the weekend in Tofino. Started out Sunday at 7:00 Am at 1st street dock where I met my guide Jack of Jacks fly fishing adventures in Tofino. Hoped into his boat and sped off across the sound, which took about 15mins, and witnessed one of the best sunrises I've seen in a long while. Once we were across my guide started setting up two 8wt fly rods both had full sink lines one had a nice buck tail fly on the end, which he handed to me. As he started to set the second rod he asked if he could put on a spoon and a weight on the end of it unless I was opposed to this. Sure I said I've never done that before and he said it was a good searching pattern. So this being my first time fishing in saltwater and the first time trying to cast an 8wt rod with full sinking tip and a big heavy fly seemed rather daunting so opted to troll the buck tails.
The weather was perfect the waters were calm and the sun was out, as we started to cruise around the amount of needlefish that were around was insane. As we were taking in the sun started asking how often springs are caught on the fly my guide said not very often but it happens... sure enough about five minutes later bang a fish hits the rod with the spoon. I switch rods with the guide and the line starts to peel off like mad on a long powerful run after about ten minutes of battle we bring to net a nice 15lb spring salmon.