BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to beach fishing and am trying to understand tides and how they relate to fishing for cutthroat. Do you find success dependent upon tide more so than time of day? Do you tend to have better success on an incoming tide vs. an outgoing tide? I've noticed that of two low tides each day, one is much lower than the other. Is fishing one of these low tides more productive than the other? I've read that fishing an incoming tide is more productive, but at the same time on some forums I read that some people comment on how they've had a good day fishing an outgoing tide. It's all a little confusing. Can any one here help educate me about tides? Thanks kindly.

·
Premium Member
1,608 Posts
Hi Cameron...
A very good post...Tides can be confusing as heck..Most of the time just before High flood and during the flood are the best what you need to realize is that the Food sources are the major player here...during a very high tide the Trout will cruise the beach only several feet of the shoreline where insects and fry have gathered to eat or be eaten. This time of year when the fry are coming down all the streams and entering the estuaries can be awesome...later when the summer approaches cutties are still as hungry and will attack anything within their sight....