TFO Spey Rods?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TFO Spey Rods?

Mayfly
    making my home in Grande Prairie, Alberta
    Thanks

Default TFO Spey Rods?

anyone here ever used the Temple Fork Outfitters spey rods? i really love their single handers (i'll fish with them before i use a Sage. lol). I would like to get into the spey game in the next year or two and am starting my research. what kind of lines match nicely with the TFO rods?

this would be a salmon/steelhead rod, most likely an 8 weight.

2. Remove Advertisements
    FlyFishBC.com
    Advertisements

Thanks

I've never used a TFO spey before but I ran into a guy using one a couple days ago, and he seemed to love his. Most rod manufacturers seem to give you a recommendation on what lines match their rods. I would recommend looking for a spey casting instructor that has a couple TFO's on hand. That way you can take a casting lesson and get a feel for the rods and lines to match all at the same time. Hope this helps a little.

Leech
    Thanks

ive got the tfo deer creek #7 and love it. i think ive got a 520 grain skagit compact on there with some slick shooter.

5. Remove Advertisements
    FlyFishBC.com
    Advertisements

Inactive
    Thanks

I don't have a TFO but Sage 7wt with Rio windcutter versatip line I'd recommend that line as I also have one on my 9wt.....btw the 7wt sage is one of the best rods I've ever cast. The 9wt isn't even close....MHO

Thanks

i was gonna buy a TFO till i held a Snowbee Click here to enlarge now i got a 9ft #8 diamond and its GREAT

Leech
    Thanks