BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

Sage VT2 '14/ 9w

6K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  Stone 
G
#1 ·
May be a possibility for my first double hander..What are your thoughts or experiences?

Finder;)

#2 ·
nice stick

I spent about 45 minutes with Chris from Sage last year at a clave.
We were casting the 13' 7wght.
I really liked it. After 30 minutes I was chucking arrows with the 450 skagit he had it lined with.
Biggest thing is, try a bunch of rods before you buy. There are so many nice rods out there, you don't want to get the first one you look at.

G
#3 ·
VT2..pretty nice!!!!

FishFinder:

Bought the 8/9 for my personal Xmas present. Using that with 550 skagit head with and without 5' cheater depending on tip used. I'm just a newbie but I love this rod. For the $ it seems a fair deal.

#6 · (Edited)
Finder
I've heard good things about the Sage rod. It's supposed to be good with skagit lines. Another rod you might want to check out that is in the same $ range is the Scott Ls2 1408. It's more of an 8/9 & chucks tight loops with a skagit 550 & 9/10/11 windcutter. Cnd 8/9 & Airflow 8/9 Delta rocks on that rod a well.
Alot of super rods on the market, makes buying confusing but fun. :D

G
#7 ·
Well I decided on the VT2 14'4 /9 weight. After doing some heavy thinking,and concidering I felt this was my best option for the money, for a decent stick at this point in time. After taking some expert advice, I'll be running it with the AirFlo Skagit line. I love my single handed outfit, so it'll be a little strange leaving it behind when I hit the local flow this spring. Thanks for your replys fellas, and thanks to Bergler for encouraging me to make the leap. Took me long enough I know. I look forward to eating a big piece of humble pie when I try and swing this rod around out there for the first time.:D

Finder:)

#8 ·
Just a thought...