BC Fly Fishing Forums banner

Upstream/Downstream Wind / River Left / Right

6K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  tackleman 
#1 ·
I'm very new to the world of Spey and simply loving it. I'm familiar with the mechanics of Single, Double, Snap T/ Circle C, Perry Poke and Snake Roll casts. I have a 13ft 8wt rod with a Skagit Flight head and 12ft sinktip.

I feel a bit daft because I can't get my head around Upstream and Downstream winds combined with River Left or River right. I just seem to have mental block on it. I know the basic safety precaution of making sure that the fly is not blowing at me but that's it.

I get loads of technical stuff but this one just twists my mind - sorry, a bit embarrassed!!!

Also, when forming the D loop, the D is formed by the Rod and the flyline but does this include the sinktip or is it just the shooting head?

Can someone help me?

Cheers
Chris

#2 ·
I wont be much help explaining the spey cast in words...have you tried youtubing it? there are some good videos on there that show some of the basics...it's how I learned (plus a little trial and a lot of error ha ha)

Actually my last day on the spey this winter/spring was my best day out. I managed to figure out source of the last consistent error I made while casting...for your reference...if you notice that your sink tip is dog-legging up stream on your cast, it's because you didnt drop the rod tip straight down, you dropped the butt in a sweeping motion that crosses your belly! ;)

#3 ·